Home Closed Back Headphone Reviews Status Audio CB-1 Over Ear Headphones Review

Status Audio CB-1 Over Ear Headphones Review

by Stuart Charles Black

Don't forget to share if you found it helpful!

Updates

  • 6/4/19.
  • 2/9/20. Updated impressions to match shootout with 40x. Added comparison video to the 40x. Thanks to John Christopher in the comments below for pointing out the discrepancies! This was an older post and needed some adjustments.
  • 1/26/21. Article/link cleanup.
  • 5/20/21. Moved the CB-1 down a spot to make room for the 30i.

2,059-word post, approx. 7 min. read

  • If you were searching for a comparison to the 40x, you can find the full shootout here (along with many other headphones).

Hey there friend and Welcome aboard!!

Before we get into the Status Audio CB-1 over-ear headphones review, grab a snack, sit back and relax because…

You’ve come to the right place!!

This is part of my “Budget Kings” Series, which takes a look at some of the best options for under $100. Check out:

Why did I place this sixth?

The CB-1 has a fantastic Soundstage, great instrument separation, and excellent comfort. What is Soundstage? It can sound a little too feathery/light sounding at times, hence why it doesn’t quite achieve top honors. The cable is also a bit of a pain to get in and out, but that’s more of a very minor nitpick.

They get sixth for these reasons but still remain an excellent buy at their price because what they do well outshines what they don’t in my opinion. The build is also pretty good, as they aren’t quite as flimsy as an HD558.

Overall, the inclusion of two detachable cables (a coiled and straight), some metal, a great Soundstage, fantastic instrument separation/detail, great bass response, and an extremely sturdy 3.5mm termination make this an easy choice, along with the sound taken as a whole.

What I will bring you in this review

  1. Ratings/Price
  2. Specifications
  3. Summary
  4. Pros
  5. Cons
  6. Video Review
  7. Amp/DAC requirements
  8. Who these headphones benefit?
  9. Thoughts from Stu’s notepad
  10. Consensus/Conclusion
  11. Final Word

Now without further ado, let’s get rolling!!

Status Audio CB-1

The Best Headphones for Gaming

The CB-1 is a fantastic open-sounding headphone.

Ratings/Price

Specifications

  • Type: Closed-back, dynamic.
  • Fit: Circumaural.
  • Driver size: 50mm.
  • Frequency Response: 15 Hz – 30 kHz.
  • Impedance: 32 Ohm. What is Headphone Impedance?
  • Sensitivity: 97dB/mW. What is Sensitivity in Headphones?
  • Cable Length: 3m. Comes with a Coiled and Straight version.
  • 1/4 adapter: Yes.
  • Cable Detachable: Yes.
  • Fold-able. Yes.
  • Case included: No.
  • Weight: 8.9 Oz. (263g)

Summary

The Status Audio CB-1 is a closed-back, circumaural headphone with a build and style that looks like a cross between an Audio Technica ATH M40x, an M50/50x, and a Sony MDR V6/7506. Closed back vs. Open back headphones. Both the fold and mechanism that holds the ear cup look identical to both the 40x and aforementioned Sony models. Also, strangely enough, there’s not one hint of branding on the headphones, which I thought was weird.

Design & Build

What I like better about the CB-1 is that the ear-cups feel much nicer, as they are made of protein leather rather than the faux leather of the Sony’s and 40x’s, which both tend to crack, peel, flake, and harden over time. The cups are also much deeper and seem to afford a tad more room for your ears. The outside of the cups is encased in genuine metal as well, which is welcome at this price. The trade-off is that the headphones are about twice the size of your melon upon mirror inspection, which makes you look like a complete doofus outside of the studio. 😛

That said, out of the 3, the 40x feels the most solid in your hand, followed by the V6 and then the CB 1. The CB-1 doesn’t feel quite as cheap as something like an AKG K240 Studio, but not quite as heavy/durable as a 40x. It kind of inhabits that middle ground and feels about as good as the price would indicate.

What I also found really interesting is the 3.5mm jack. It’s nearly identical to the jack used on the original M50. Perhaps the greatest compliment they could make, as that jack was the best one I’ve personally ever come across, and to this day still holds up over 5 years later. I’m fully convinced that all headphones should employ it.

Detachable?

What I don’t like about the CB-1 is although it has a detachable cable, it’s extremely hard and cumbersome to get out, at least at first. As you’ll see in my video review/unboxing, I was having a tough time on camera, to the point of me thinking that it wasn’t even meant to come out, even though they do come with a straight and coiled version.

I was able to finally pull it out, but it took me pulling from a lower point of leverage, which also left me uncomfortable. You should always be able to grab at the top (where you’re supposed to grab) and not have to resort to pulling from the thinner part of the wire if that makes sense. Your fingers are libel to hurt a bit after getting this beast out of its hole.

What I do like about the coiled version of the CB-1’s cable is that the coil is more manageable than both the V6 and the 40x. The V6’s coil goes on for days and will become tangled quite easily over a span of about 2 years. The M40x’s coil is a bit shorter, and the CB-1’s is the shortest.

Ultimately, the build of the CB-1 overall is pretty good but still ranks last among these 3 in a big picture analysis.

Build rank

  1. 40x
  2. V6
  3. CB-1

Comfort

This is where the CB-1 wins out by a small margin. The ear cups are extremely plush being that they are a soft and supple protein leather, with plenty of room to breathe. The cups are thick enough for the driver to stay away from your ears, and because the headphones are lighter, they make for a more comfortable fit over time. What is a headphone driver? Both the 40x’s and V6’s clamp force is tighter than the CB-1, with the 40x taking the top spot as far as pressure goes.

Comfort rank

  1. CB-1
  2. V6
  3. 40x

Sound

As far as sound is concerned, overall I do like it, but there are a few small nitpicks. One is the mid-bass. There’s something a bit strange going on, and it comes across as a little bloated and forced. This also affects parts of the mid-range, as it seems a bit sucked out in spots, or pushed back (recessed). The third issue is that because of this weird mid-range, the treble can be metallic sounding at times, resulting in an essy character that’s a bit problematic. There are times when the CB-1’s sound flat out awful, with a treble that’s not as piercing as it is just simply “Crumpled”, and yes, sibilant as well. What does Sibilant mean?

These aren’t bass light, but they’re also not a bass head’s headphone. They just sound kind of right, even despite the fact that the bass does roll off a bit.

Overall, I do prefer the sound of the CB-1 over the M40x and even my beloved V6. It’s just more of a relaxed listen and you’re not getting any musical fatigue like you would with the others.

Sound rank

  1. CB-1
  2. V6
  3. M40x

40x comparison

In comparison to an M40x, the CB-1 seems more open, more detailed, and more relaxed sounding while still being a fun listen. The Soundstage and scope of the sound seemed larger as well. These do indeed have a bit of a wider image than your typical closed-back headphone, and it’s one of the best qualities about them. It makes the CB-1 a relatively easy purchase as a headphone that you can put on and immediately enjoy.

The 40x by contrast is more of bass heads can, but the mid-bass can be problematic at times, in addition to the essy and sometimes metallic treble. The CB-1 doesn’t have these issues and comes across as smoother and more fluid sounding.

V6 comparison

The V6 is a cleaner and more sterile sound, but definitely brighter and more in your face. The V6 is a reference go-to and has been for decades, but I think the CB-1 outshines here with regard to detail and spacing specifically. I was hearing a lot more going on in the mix with the CB-1 than I have with most other headphones, including my beloved V6.

The bass on both is crisp and textured if a bit rolled off in the lower regions. Can’t really say which I prefer more. I think they both sound fairly similar actually, but the V6’s may be slightly cleaner and more refined. It’s a tough call.

Pros

  • Good build.
  • Excellent comfort, with good padding and a great 3.5mm jack.
  • Metal for the outside of the cups.
  • An enjoyable sound that will appeal to most people.
  • Great Soundstage for a closed-back model.

Cons

  • The detachable cable is very hard to remove.
  • Mid-range is sucked out in some spots.
  • Mid-bass can become bloated.
  • Treble can be metallic and essy at times.

Video Shootout/Comparison to the 40x

Don’t forget to leave me some love! <3

Click to see the CB 1!

Shiny new object syndrome.
Basking.
Closer.
M50's cousin.
Coiled.
Close quarters.
M50's twin brother. LIQUID!!
Folded like the Braves in the '96 World Series.
Cups so deep you can pour yourself a coffee.
Your days are numbered.
Really.
Sleepy.

Amp/DAC requirements

Not needed, but I use mine with an Oppo HA-2. How to choose a Headphone Amp!

Learn more: Oppo HA-2 Review!

Some more great options:

Who these headphones benefit?

I would say they will do well with most genres, and I listened to them with:

  • Hip-Hop/Rap
  • Indie
  • Pop
  • Rock

Thoughts from Stu’s notepad

  • The CB-1 would be a perfect headphone if not for a few somewhat minor quibbles. I kept thinking that the treble is good but will become kind of raspy, scratchy/metallic and it really holds them back from being the best budget closed headphones ever. Because the Soundstage is so magnificent, it’s kind of a disappointment. Still, this headphone is so cheap that it kind of becomes null and void, and I can overlook it for the price.
  • The mid-range can sound sucked out at times and does seem a bit distant in certain songs.
  • It seems as though the CB-1 is very source-dependent. With certain recordings, these sound almost flawless. With others, you wonder what the engineers were thinking.
  • The detachable cable proved to be extremely difficult to pull out. Not sure why others haven’t mentioned this.
  • The box that they come in looks and feels nice, but the shell inside is cheap plastic. I was kind of expecting more given how cool the box looked, but I suppose you can’t expect much at this price point.
  • The 3.5mm jack is almost identical to the original M50 and is a welcome addition given that it’s pretty much indestructible.

Consensus/Conclusion

The Status Audio CB-1 is a headphone that gets a whole heck of a lot right. Price, comfort, Soundstage, and overall sound are all very good. The inclusion of two detachable cables plus a beefy 1/4″ adapter is much appreciated as well. The treble does tend to sizzle a bit too much, and the mid-range can be problematic at times. Overall though, this is an easy recommendation at this price point.

Final Word

I’ve said enough.

 


Well, that’s about it for today my friend! I hope you’ve enjoyed this Status Audio CB-1 over-ear headphones review.

Questions? Comments? Requests? Did I miss the mark on something? Please leave them down below or Contact me!!

What do you think about these bad boys? I would love to hear from you. Until next time…

All the best and God bless,

 

 

-Stu

[Xtr@Ba$eHitZ]

Can’t decide which headphones to purchase? Interested in a complete buyers guide outlining over 40 of the best options on the market? Click on over to the best audiophile headphones to learn more!!

Be sure to also check out my Reviews and Resources page for more helpful and informative articles!

Status Audio CB-1

4.75

Value

5.0/5

Sound

4.8/5

Build Quality

4.3/5

Soundstage

4.9/5

Pros

  • Great Soundstage for a Closed Back
  • Amazing Comfort
  • Good Build Overall
  • Great for Reference work

Cons

  • Build is a tad flimsy
  • Cable can be annoying to remove

Don't forget to share if you found it helpful!

You may also like

12 comments

John Christopher February 8, 2020 - 5:52 am

Thanks for writing such in-depth review. But I’m a bit confused for the sound quality of CB-1. In this review, you ranked CB-1 below M40X. But in the Audio Technica M40X vs Status Audio CB-1 vs Sony MDR-7506 shootout, CB-1 ranked the first. Can you explain a bit? Thanks in advanced

Reply
Stuart Charles Black February 9, 2020 - 1:33 pm

Hey man!

No worries and thank you for the love. I will have to modify that. I actually used to have the M40x in the Budget Kings and removed it in favor of the Creative Aurvana Live! The CB-1’s sound signature is definitely better than the 40x’s; it’s smoother, more detailed, and not metallic sounding like the 40x. It also has infinitely better Soundstage – something that closed back headphones generally aren’t known for. While the M40x was marketed as a reference headphone, it’s really anything but. The CB-1 is fantastic for such a purpose. It’s just a better headphone all around and more comfortable too. That article was a newer shootout and definitely more reflective of my thoughts. When you change rankings around, sometimes you miss stuff in the articles that needs to be edited. This is such a case. What will you be using the CB-1’s for primarily? They’re great for basically everything and are really hard to beat for the price.

Reply
John Christopher February 9, 2020 - 3:15 pm

I guess I will buy a CB-1 as most of my usage will be producing and mixing. Thanks a lot for your helpful review!

Reply
Stuart Charles Black February 9, 2020 - 9:42 pm

No worries mate! If you purchase through a link of mine I do get a small kick back and it really does help me and the site out! Also keep me posted on your impressions of the CB-1!!

Reply
SACB1-SM July 11, 2020 - 11:14 am

Just adding for anyone looking:
the newer CB-1 version and the overall bundle quality plummet to the lowest of the low, both detachable cable are less durable and come without the anti-twisting support, ear pads are thinner and the box case come also without any specification or mark and also miss the holographic glyph. The older version SM-CB1 reached 15HZ the newer SACB1-SM double that on the wrong direction. Sound separation is non-existent.

Reply
Stuart Charles Black July 12, 2020 - 3:30 am

Hmm that’s a shame man! I had not heard about it. Where did you purchase? Is it possible you might have gotten a fake?

Reply
SACB1-SM July 14, 2020 - 10:51 pm

I got the headphone delivered by Amazon and the order placed on the Status Audio Headphones shop.
Asked the support about the changes and they said the product match the current “refinements” nevertheless I quickly returned after hearing the frequency fail.
I still have mine older CB-1 version which I m gonna repair!

Reply
Stuart Charles Black July 20, 2020 - 3:42 pm

Yikes! Why would they change an otherwise great sound signature and headphone? Makes no sense. Do you have an official link to the new product?

Reply
Cuddly January 5, 2021 - 12:12 am

Just received mine. Confirm the pads & cables have changed as SACB1-SM noted in July. Not had earlier versions so can only go by reviews & conclusion is they have dropped in sound quality, big sound, need more amplifying than expected, muddy & vague, not much soundstage. For the price they’re usable but should have paid a bit more to get something more reliable.

Reply
Stuart Charles Black January 5, 2021 - 5:05 pm

That is so disappointing! I had heard the new model was pretty bad. This review is of the older one obviously. Why would they screw it all up? I don’t get it at all. The original CB-1 is amazing.

Reply
Stathis April 6, 2021 - 2:01 am

Hi, Stu. I asked you a question in another post. I want you to tell me if i play music at a high-very high percentage then will the person who will be in the same room with me(1 meter distance between us) be able to hear what i hear? I want to buy the original model from ebay. Thanks.

Reply
Stuart Charles Black April 6, 2021 - 5:50 pm

Hey man! If in the case of the CB-1? Maybe, but probably not. If they hear anything it will be pretty faint at high volumes.

Reply

Leave a Comment